“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

That quote, by L.M. Montgomery in Anne of Green Gables is so me. I love everything about autumn. Summer is over, unless you live in Texas where tomorrow the forecast is a whopping 99 degrees. Football is BACK! Cooler temperatures are on the way (fingers crossed) so I can wear sweaters and jeggings and tall boots. And pumpkins spiced EVERYTHING is on the shelves at the grocery store and on the menu in every restaurant. Including my October cupcake menu. ūüôā

By now you know my process for coming up with the cupcakes. I get an idea in my head and then I Google it until I find a recipe that sounds¬†awesome to me. Then¬†I make the recipe Randa-style by taking out the whole make-the-cake-from-scratch part of it, thus making it my own. This month I wanted a pumpkin cupcake, but I also wanted carrot cake. So when I found these Pumpkin Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting, I was sold! Thanks Mom On Timeout for the cupcake inspo! I used a¬†store bought spice cake mix¬†for the dry ingredients but used most of the rest of the cupcake recipe as is – though I did add an extra egg, a tablespoon of coconut oil and a¬†generous splash of fat free milk (not because I was making them healthy, that’s just the only milk I had in the house). Also,¬†I didn’t want the cupcake to have an overwhelming maple flavor, so I didn’t add it to the frosting, only to the cake batter. And I added¬†cinnamon to the cream cheese frosting, to give it a little kick.¬†You know I don’t taste the final cupcake before my meeting, but I did lick the spoon after I got the cupcakes in the oven, and it was amazing! So if that’s any indication of how amazing the finished cupcakes are going to be, then my coworkers are in for a treat!

Pumpkin Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Cupcake Ingredients:

3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3 eggs, room temp
1 cup pure pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1 box Spice Cake Mix
1 cup finely shredded carrots (took me two large carrots to get this amount shredded)
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 generous splash of fat free milk

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.
  2. Cream brown sugar and butter together in mixer.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until fully combined.
  4. Mix in pumpkin and maple syrup.
  5. Gradually mix in spice cake mix until fully combined.
  6. Add in coconut oil and milk.
  7. Stir in shredded carrots.
  8. Using ice cream scoop, scoop cake batter into cupcake liners. In my experience, one full ice cream scoop per cupcake liner is the perfect amount. Makes 24 cupcake.
  9. Bake in 350 degree oven for 19 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cupcake comes out clean.
  10. Cool completely on wire racks.

 

Frosting Ingredients:
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 cups of powdered sugar
Gold sprinkles, optional
  1. Beat all ingredients (except cinnamon, powdered sugar and sprinkles) until smooth. Might take several minutes for brown sugar to dissolve completely. Check for graininess and then continue beating as necessary.
  2. Add powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, until well combined.
  3. Add cinnamon and mix well.
  4. Scoop frosting into piping bag fitted with your tip of choice.
  5. Then just add gold sprinkles! Refrigerate until ready to serve for firmer frosting.

 

cupcake pioneer woman

Finished cupcake, pre-sprinkles. LOVE my Pioneer Woman measuring cup (this is the 1/3 cup), but I really felt like the cupcakes were missing a little something. ENTER GOLD SPRINKLES!

This was for sure the prettiest frosted cupcake. I'm getting better at it y'all!

This was for sure the prettiest frosted cupcake. I’m getting better at it y’all!

A sea of pumkiny spiced frosted goodness!

A sea of pumkiny spiced frosted goodness!

 

Leave a Reply

